Review – Untamed by Anna Cowan

Untamed - Anna CowanOutspoken and opinionated, Katherine Sutherland is ill at ease amongst the fine ladies of Regency London. She is more familiar with farmers and her blunt opinions and rough manners offend polite society. Yet when she hears the scandalous rumours involving her sister and the seductive Duke of Darlington, the fiercely loyal Katherine vows to save her sister’s marriage – whatever the  cost.

Intrigued by Katherine’s interference in his affairs, the manipulative Duke is soon fascinated. He engages in a daring deception and follows her back to her country home. Here, their intense connection shocks them both. But the Duke’s games have dangerous consequences, and the potential to throw both their lives into chaos…

If I was only allowed one word to describe what I thought about Untamed, it would have to be “extraordinary”.

I don’t think I’ve ever read anything quite like it, in fact. When I saw the blurb on NetGalley, I thought it sounded like just the type of historical romance I love – strong and ballsy heroine, roguish cheeky hero – perfect! Untamed has that and oh so much more. It plays with regular romantic conventions, smashes them and seems to create a whole set of its own.

A cross-dressing, sexually ambiguous beta duke as the hero and a heroine with less-than-perfect looks & a preference for the company of livestock over polite society – Jude and Katherine make such an unusual couple. It’s almost as if the gender roles have been swapped and Kit & Jude are inhabiting each other’s bodies. However, you thoroughly believe they are meant for each other.

There’s not a hell of a lot that I’m going to leak out in this review because to really appreciate this book, I think you have to read it. I can see, after reading this, that it might not be to everyone’s taste as it is very different.

But I will say this. Untamed is in equal measures wild, dramatic, different, romantic and poetic. Anna Cowan has created an intricate and beautiful romance that, in less skilled hands, could have ended up a hot mess.

I will be sure to add Anna Cowan to my list of authors to watch after this.

My rating: 5 out of 5

Release date: 15 May 2013

Purchase Links: AmazonDestiny RomanceiBookstoreGoogle Play

Note: I was provided with an advanced reader copy of this book by Destiny Romance, an imprint of Penguin Australia via NetGalley in return for an honest review.

Leave a comment